What’s the most significant obstacle people face when it comes to being open about mental health?


Paul's letters...

I’ve been thinking about this question in the days since the conversation on mental health advocacy that came out of the Conquer Worry podcast. This morning I met with my therapist and we were discussing the challenges of mental health advocacy and I talked about how I think one of the best ways to make progress towards more accessible (and acceptable) mental health care is to break down the barriers people have about being open. I know I’m not the first one to use the analogy (nor is this the first time I’ve used it) but I strongly believe people with a mental health issue ought to “come out of the closet”. One of the things that fueled the success of the gay rights movement has been a willingness of people to be open about who they are, to let their relatives, friends, and coworkers understand that at our…

View original post 794 more words

One response to “What’s the most significant obstacle people face when it comes to being open about mental health?

  1. Pingback: What’s the most significant obstacle people face when it comes to being open about mental health? | Borderline & PMDD

Comments?

