DBT Skills Group – Distress Tolerance Week 1


Living with Borderline Personality Disorder

Last Saturday my DBT Skills Group started up again, so I am back posting regular updates about what we are covering on the program! It was the first week of the Distress Tolerance module – the 3rd module out of the 4 we have covered so far.

There were 8 people in the group, a big difference to the mere 2-3 of us who regularly attended the Emotional Regulation module back in August. My anxiety was high due to the new(ish) situation and people, however it was surprisingly more manageable than I had expected it to be – considering that on my first ever week I had a near panic-attack in the bathroom before we had even started. I guess that’s progress right there, and proof that exposure and Opposite Action really can lead to lasting change. (Damn, maybe the therapists really were right all along about that one 😜.)

View original post 398 more words

Comments?

