distorted thinking


porcelainskin & rosycheeks

imageIf it’s not black & white, I’m catastrophizing (is that even a word?) the situation…the bane of my existence. What people don’t understand about BPD is that once I have a thought the urge to act moves so quickly from a want to need, that I must do it!

To the outside world it makes me look like a selfish, manipulative drama queen and I’m not, really I’m not. I’m actually pretty sensitive to the people around me and their emotions.

I’m my worst critic but through the skills I have learned through group therapy in Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) I have learned to stop and analyze my thoughts. Are they based on fact? What’s the probability of that outcome occurring?

The black and white thinking is tough, it’s hard to learn that two people can both be right in a situation and life is not a competition. For me…

View original post 151 more words

Comments?

