Communication Problems


My husband and I had a little chat the other night.  We don’t do that too often.  He said that I didn’t contribute much to the conversation.  I replied that I’m more of a listener, and that I tried to talk some too.  I’ve never been very good at conversation with him.  He always says that we’ve been together for years and I should be good at it by now.  I’m better at making conversation with my parents and sister, as long as its not about mental health.  Nothing too serious.

I don’t know why I can’t make conversation with my hubby.  I wish I could to his satisfaction.  Another thing he says sometimes is that we have nothing in common.  We have a lot of different interests but we also suffer from some of the same things – depression, anxiety, social anxiety.  So we understand each other pretty well in those areas I think.

Do you have communication problems like this?  How do you handle it?  I don’t think I’ll ever be able to have a conversation to his approval.  Thanks for listening.  Till next time,

— Joyce.

Comments?

