Celebration of Recovery 2015


IMG_0142Today I went to my second “Celebration of Recovery”  It was great!  They had guest speakers and a nice lunch.  They also had some of the people who use the Centres do some videos, which they showed throughout the day.  They had a few freebies again.  I grabbed some for my friend who was ill and couldn’t make it.  They talked all about Peer Support and Stigma.  They have redesigned their logo and made some changes within their organization.  They asked people what they would like to see in Peer Support last year.  So this year, they took that into account in doing the redesign.

They have a campaign called “The Elephant in the Room”  We have a small elephant.  If you display it, it means that people can talk freely with you about Mental Health without stigma or judgement.  I think it’s a great idea!  I have one in my home office and one on my keychain.  It should definitely get the conversation started about Mental Health.

The Team Lead from our Centre was sick today and couldn’t make it.  I hope she can make it next year.  I don’t know if the Centre will be open tomorrow.  It may be closed due to staff illness.  I really miss it when I can’t go there.  I find it really helps my mental health.

That’s all for now.  Till next time,

— Joyce.

Comments?

