BPD Group Today on Topic of Dissociation


Today I did my BPD Group.  The topic was Dissociation in Borderline Personality Disorder.  People with BPD may experience dissociation under extreme stress.  It may feel like everything is a dream.  I’ve only experience something like it once.  My daughter was just a baby and I woke up to check on her.  A few minutes later, I thought I just dreamed it, so I checked on her again.  And then again.  I started freaking out so I woke my husband up.

I don’t even remember how I got to the hospital.  I talked to the doctor for a few minutes then told him that it would feel like a dream in a few minutes.  Which it did.  But I knew it wasn’t.  He told me that my brain was still half asleep and to just go home and go back to bed and everything would be better in the morning.  I got home and went back to bed.

The next day, everything was fine.  It was the weirdest sensation I’ve ever had.  I’ve never experienced anything like it before or since.

Next month, I’m doing my out-of-town group on the topic of Mindfulness.  I’m gonna have some grounding exercises to help with dissociation.  I’ll try to find some posts on the subject to share here.

Have you ever dissociated?  What helps you?  Please share, if you feel comfortable.  Till next time,

— Joyce.

2 responses to “BPD Group Today on Topic of Dissociation

  1. I can’t say I’ve had any dissociative episodes like the one you described, but I do have a tendency to zone out or go completely catatonic under extreme stress, or after a highly emotional experience. It doesn’t matter what the emotion is either. Happiness as well as sadness or anger will trigger the same reaction. Usually sitting down to write helps keep me grounded. 🙂

    Like

Comments?

