An Episode of Black-and-White Thinking


The other night, I noticed I was having an episode of black-and-white thinking.  I had a headache and was wondering if I should take something for it.  The dentist had given me a prescription for Tylenol 3 with Codeine for any possible pain I may have from having a few teeth extracted.  My mouth wasn’t too sore, but combined with the headache and I really needed to get some sleep, I thought that maybe I should try something.  Should I take the Tylenol 3 or just try to get to sleep without it?

Then I remembered that we did have some other Tylenol in the house that didn’t have Codeine in it.  It didn’t have to be all-or-nothing, either take the Tylenol 3 or don’t take anything.  The other Tylenol was Ultra Tylenol, Migraine-Strength with my husband takes for his occasional migraines which works for him, so I decided to take that.

Such a simple thing, but one of many things that come up in daily life where we may have black-and white, all-or-nothing thinking.

What examples do you have of black-and-white, all-or-nothing thinking?  What did you do in the situation?  Please comment below!

Comments?

