DBT: Option Analysis


Marci, Mental Health, & More

Options for Responding to Any Problem Situation

  1. Solve the problem.
  • Use my skills to solve the problem
  • Leave and come back to the situation later

2. Change my reaction to the problem.

  • Challenge my interpretation of events
  • Put problem in a new context (wise mind)
  • Can I re-frame this as a problem that I can solve?

3. Cope better with my reaction to the problem

  • Use distress tolerance and emotion regulation skills
  • Radically accept my reaction

4. Stay Miserable

scan0003

Option Analysis Worksheet

Another quick way to remember is CALM

Change

Accept

Leave

(Be) Miserable

View original post

2 responses to “DBT: Option Analysis

  1. Thanks for the re-blog!

    Like

Comments?

