Invalidation & Emotional Abuse


Marci, Mental Health, & More

invalidation

Invalidation is a form of subtle emotional abuse, often occurring in the childhoods of person’s with Borderline Personality Disorder.

View original post

7 responses to “Invalidation & Emotional Abuse

  1. This really hits me right now in the current racial climate in the U.S. This is exactly the type of invalidation/emotional abuse that a lot of white people are using against anti-racist activists on college campuses and the #black lives matter movement. I’ve never thought about recognizing it as emotional abuse, but it certainly is. I don’t think that a lot of people see how undermining black people’s feelings about racism or denying black people’s experiences of racism as abuse. Invalidation is so hurtful. Of course, I experienced emotional abuse quite a bit in my childhood from my parents, but those same feelings are always triggered when I’m involved in racial debates. Anyway, I’m glad that you shared this : ).

    Like

  2. Thank you for your comment!

    Like

  3. Thanks for the re-blog!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Invalidation & Emotional Abuse | Borderline & PMDD

  5. I get this nearly on a daily basis. I plead for it to stop and then more pours on.

    Like

Comments?

