Out-of-Town Group Cancelled – Permanently!


I just found out that my out-of-town BPD group has been permanently cancelled.  I guess it wasn’t the Team Lead who cancelled it but her supervisor, who oversees the different centres.  I thought that Group was going well and that people were getting something out of it – support, education.  I’m very discouraged and upset.  Especially since my group got cancelled without even telling me.  I really wanted to help people.

I met with my Community Peer Support worker today.  She’s the one who told me that the out-of-town group was cancelled.  She said that maybe we could try running the group at another out-of-town centre that had expressed some interest in starting a BPD group.  I hope it works out.  The Team Lead there had been talking about running a group there for quite some time now but maybe since we’re not running the other group anymore, we’ll be able to run one there.

All I want to do is offer people the help that I never got.  There were no support groups in this area at all so I started my own.  You’d think that people would want to join a group and receive validation and support.  I wish that there’d been something like that when I was diagnosed.  I always try to provide helpful materials to people at my groups.  I try to help people online but it’s always nice to have that face-to-face support as well.  It’s not just for them, it’s for me too.  It’s nice to feel that you’re not all alone in how you feel.  Especially since Borderline Personality Disorder is something that you don’t really hear about, except maybe inaccurate, stigmatizing information.

Thanks for listening.  I’ll let you know if things work out with the other out-of-town centre.  Till next time,

— Joyce.

2 responses to “Out-of-Town Group Cancelled – Permanently!

  1. I’m so sorry! This is awful news. You were doing such a wonderful job, and really helping people. I am really hoping that the other out of town group will be feasible, and, if so, know that you will make an even greater success out of it. Lots of love, and I’ll be hoping with you. xx

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your kind comment. It was quite a shock to find out that my group was cancelled all of a sudden like that. Thanks for having faith in me!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments?

