A 2 am Update


It’s amazing all the things you think about at 2:00 in the morning when you wake up and can’t go back to sleep!  I saw my counsellor yesterday and updated her on everything that’s been going on with me and my family.  I told her that she could close my file so we’re meeting again in two weeks to go out for a coffee and celebrate.  I’m so nervous!  I’ve been in therapy for about twenty years now.  It feels kinda like being on a high wire without a net, even though I still have support but it won’t be the same.  I have my Peer Support worker, plus everyone at the Peer Support Centre, plus my friends and family.  But it feels like the end of an era.  (Cue dramatic music).

My daughter and her boyfriend are moving today (tomorrow?  It’s 2 am.)  My dad is gonna rent a trailer and help them move.  He can’t really lift anything but he’ll be the driver.  He had a trailer.  I guess he just got rid of it.  That’s my dad, always working on trailers and lawn tractors, fixing them up then selling them.  He loves to keep busy!  I hope the move goes smoothly for them.

I’m not sure what I’m up to tomorrow (today?)  I don’t know if they’ll need my help or if I’ll just go to the Peer Support Centre.  I’ll do what I usually do – wing it.

My son’s missed the last couple weeks of school due to a bad cold.  He’s gone all this week so far.  He has to get an immunization on Monday or else be suspended from school for a month.  He has to get this needle before they’ll let him into high school.  He needs a check-up too.  He hasn’t had one for quite a while.  My husband will probably take him to the doctor.  He needs to talk to the doctor too.  He hasn’t been to the doctor in a long time either.

The grandson’s weight is up to 4 lbs., 7 oz.  I can’t wait until he gets to come home.  I can’t wait to cuddle with him every chance I get.  My Peer Support worker took my daughter and I to see him last Thursday and I got to hold him for the first time!  My husband and son haven’t got to see him yet, except in pictures.

That’s all for now.  It’s now 2:50 in the morning and I should try to get back to sleep.  If I can’t, I’ll probably be on my Facebook Page.  Till next time,

— Joyce.

2 responses to “A 2 am Update

  1. I’m glad everything is panning out for you. Twenty years in therapy is a long time indeed. I haven’t been to one nor have I booked myself a counseling session or diagnosis but, I am thinking about it. It sometimes gets me when I feel alone on my journey. Reading your blog and going back to my life workbook (I wrote all my goals and things that remind me of my purpose there) eases that somehow. Thank you for sharing your good news, Joyce.

    Like

Comments?

