What Are Your Core Beliefs and Why Are They So Important to Uncover? ⋆ LonerWolf


I was told in DBT that my core belief was “I’m not good enough.”  I had never noticed it before because it was always there.  — Joyce.

 

Often we are completely unaware of what our core beliefs are and how they perpetuate our misery. Discover what your core beliefs are in this article.

Source: What Are Your Core Beliefs and Why Are They So Important to Uncover? ⋆ LonerWolf

3 responses to “What Are Your Core Beliefs and Why Are They So Important to Uncover? ⋆ LonerWolf

  1. glitteredlush

    Great piece! I was told and frequently reminded by my DBT therapist the one of my core beliefs was that I deserved to be punished. Whether it was self punishment or putting up with others mistreating me, I believed (and still do at times) I deserved it.

    Like

    • Did your DBT therapist give you any advice on how to deal with that core belief?

      Like

      • glitteredlush

        She did, during our sessions we would try different strategies and I found the more practical ones most effective. If recent events had been the catalyst, we’d go through what had triggered my emotional response. First, I had to list evidence to support my beliefs. Saying them aloud sometimes helped me process. But when that wasn’t sufficient, trying to separate myself and naming the emotions connected to the event. We’d then go back to the evidence and try to radically accept the emotions. As well as to remind myself of the evidence and accept that just because something has gone wrong/someone is cross with me etc doesn’t make it true that I deserve to suffer.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments?

