Plagued by Paranoia!


One of the symptoms of BPD that still affects me often is paranoid ideation.  All through elementary and high school, I was made fun of every day.  Now, whenever I see people looking my way and laughing and I can’t hear what they’re saying, I think they’re teasing me.  I can usually talk myself out of it but sometimes I can’t.  When that happens, I do some self-soothing by doing something like listening to music, and try to distract myself until the thoughts subside.

Does anyone have any suggestions for me?  What do you do that helps you deal with paranoid thoughts?  Please let me know in the Comments below.  Thanks!

Till next time,

— Joyce.

7 responses to “Plagued by Paranoia!

  1. I have something that works for me – maybe it will for you as well. When I start to get hyper-focused or anxious about things involving other people — if I think they’re mad at me or making fun of me — I think of three reasons why a person is behaving a certain way that have nothing to do with me.

    So if someone were looking in my direction and laughing and I couldn’t hear what they were saying, I might think:

    1.) They’re having a conversation together and something funny was said. They happened to look in my general direction right as they were laughing and I just happened to be there.

    2.) One of my friends often stares into space and it looks like he’s looking at people, but really isn’t. He’s pretty much not even seeing them, so that might be the situation with those folks.

    3.) Maybe something like my hair, or the shoes/pants/shirt I’m wearing (or anything else I either can’t change about myself at that given point in time) reminded them of someone they used to know, a relative they know and love, or a happy memory, and that made them smile and laugh.

    By the time I think of three things, my anxiety is usually diminished. If it hasn’t, I think of three more reasons until I feel calm. It basically helps me realize that I don’t have to take personal responsibility for things that don’t have anything to do with me. I can just chill out, relax and talk myself through it. Sometimes it does take time, but it basically allows my mind to work through it in a calmer fashion.

    Hope that helps. 🙂

    Like

  2. This happens to me too (also because of bullying). I don’t have any suggestions (what I usually do is just repress, repress, repress, go home, and if it’s bad enough, self-harm – I don’t recommend that!!!!). I wish I had something better to say! I’ll be interested to see other people’s suggestions. xx

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting. Love your blog, by the way! I’m very interested to see other people’s suggestions too. I’m going to try the suggestions listed above. Maybe you could try them too. xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Por ejemplo: la cantidad de Me Gustas” que tu Fanpage ha tenido,
    las visitas que has tenido en tu web. http://www.Gaiaonline.com/journal/?mode=view&post_id=39785457&u=38978729

    Like

Comments?

