Why I Never Shut Up About My Mental Health


All The Unheard Voices

Sometimes when I share posts about my mental illness, I receive lovely responses of people telling me that I’m brave. I don’t feel brave, I don’t feel courageous. Is it bravery if you’re not scared of it? Does it really take courage if you are not ashamed? Surely being brave is facing danger. It doesn’t feel dangerous to speak out, it feels cathartic.

Some people have asked me if I’m worried that being so open about this stuff online will impact my future. They want to know if I’m worried that I won’t get employed because of this blog. It has crossed my mind, yes. There are people out there who will judge me for what I have written. There are people who meet me and think they know me because they have read this blog. But the truth is, they don’t know me at all. All they know is my…

View original post 357 more words

2 responses to “Why I Never Shut Up About My Mental Health

  1. Ty, Joyce, for your empowering posts. I hope you are doing well.

    Like

Comments?

