Accepting emotional discomfort


Emerging From The Dark Night

“Emotional discomfort, when accepted, rises, crests and falls in a series of waves.

Each wave washes a part of us away and deposits treasures we never imagined.

Out goes naivete, in comes wisdom;

out goes anger, in comes discernment;

out goes despair, in comes kindness.

No one would call it easy,

but the rhythm of emotional pain that we learn to tolerate

is natural, constructive and expansive…

The pain leaves you healthier than it found you.”

Martha N. Beck

View original post

2 responses to “Accepting emotional discomfort

  1. Hi, I don´t agree at all with the last line of this “the pain leaves you healthier than when it found you” I am sick of dealing with my extreme emotions. I have tried DBT, Mindfulness etc and while that helps immensely with the impulses and anger it does not help with the depression side of things. These mood swings take me really far down and sometimes I can be there suffocating in my own sadness for two or three days at a time before I wake and all is suddenly bright and happy again. Controlling my emotions is like trying to control the weather. I am learning to tolerate and not go searching escapes but the sadness leaves me weak and tired and unable to be productive. It does not leave me healthier than when it found me. It overwhelms me and delays me in the things I want to do on my life path and makes me look outside for answers. It disempowers me totally.

    Like

Comments?

