Healing from Trauma: ‘Comfort & Distract’ | World of Psychology


I was invited into my old IOP group today as a kind of “guest speaker.” If *I* can get better, then anyone can. Seriously. I have carried diagnoses of Major Depression, Borderline, PTSD, and Anorexia Nervosa. And that’s just in the past couple of years. I’ve also (at one-time-or-another) been diagnosed with Bipolar and DID. And those are just the ones that come to mind. There was a woman in the room who looked particularly compromised. I knew right away that she was the one who my group leader had wanted me to address. So he motions to her and asks me to “tell her it can get better.” I looked into her eyes… or I tried. She was crying. She was rocking. She was me. I gave her a brief history of myself, and then told her what I’m going to tell you: It’s not gonna get better today. Or tomorrow. Probably not the next day, either. But it WILL get better. As a nurse, I have spent a large portion of my professional career working with people who have cognitive limitations, and now that *I*

Source: Healing from Trauma: ‘Comfort & Distract’ | World of Psychology

Comments?

