On The Realities Of Being A Black Woman With Borderline Personality Disorder | The FADER


An excerpt from Do What You Want, a new U.K. zine about mental health.

Source: On The Realities Of Being A Black Woman With Borderline Personality Disorder | The FADER

2 responses to “On The Realities Of Being A Black Woman With Borderline Personality Disorder | The FADER

  1. Wow! Thanks for sharing this. I too am black and can relate to living with such a high stigmatized disorder (NPD). There is so much I related to in that piece. Including, “many BPD patients achieve either full or partial remission within 10 years. Sometimes that feels too long to keep going.” I was quoted 5 years to kick my NPD, and even that seemed to much to bear for me. Insurmountable. I’m used to conquering things quickly and never having to make long term commitments. I have to go against the very nature of my disorder to change it. I just keep reminding myself that the time will pass whether I’m working on it or not. At the end of those 5 years (or 10), I can be improved or I can still be stuck. Being angry at the time won’t afford me the ability to go back and do things earlier. Radical acceptance!

    Like

    • I’m glad you found this article helpful. You sound like you know exactly what you have to do to recover from your disorder. You can do it! Sometimes it takes quite a while to recover but recovery is so worth it! You seem like you are willing to work hard to recover. That’s just the attitude you need.

      Like

Comments?

