A Day With My Sister


Last week, I spent the day with my sister.  We did some baking and she put a roast in her slow cooker.  We went over to my parents’ and visited with them for a bit.  My dad hasn’t been feeling well lately.  I hope he feels better soon.  Then we went back to my sister’s and had supper.  I stayed for a little bit after supper then they took me home.  I think it’s good for both of us.  She’s a little bit shy like me, and doesn’t have a lot of friends.  She’s got a bunch of new relatives though since getting married in June.  Her and her new hubby like to get out and about.  They visit my parents quite a bit.  Sometimes they bring me with them.  It’s nice to see them.  We’re thinking of getting together and do some baking regularly – maybe once a month.  Last week, we made mini confetti cupcakes and banana-topped butterscotch pie.  Yum!  It’s a lot more fun baking with someone.  I used to bake years ago, but haven’t felt like it lately.  I brought some leftovers home for my hubby and son.  They didn’t last very long!  I’m thinking of doing some colouring with my sister too next time we get together.  That’s also something that I used to do a lot of, but don’t anymore.  It’s more fun with somebody.

I’m getting a little bit more of a life now.  I used to go to the local Peer Support Centre every day.  But it’s good to do other things too.  It’s good for both me and my sister to get together and do stuff.  Especially stuff that I don’t feel like doing alone – like baking and colouring.  My kids used to like colouring with me when they were little but they haven’t liked doing stuff like that with me for a long time now.  My son never likes to colour anymore.  I like to scan in pictures that I’ve done and turn them into desktop wallpaper on my computer.  Especially mandela designs.

I ordered myself a couple of CD’s.  They’re used but that’s okay.  I never buy myself anything.  They’re from my new favourite band.  A few songs I’ve loved for a few years now, and others I’ve just discovered.  They should arrive any day now.  I can’t wait!

That’s all for now.  Hope you are all having a wonderful summer.  Till next time,

— Joyce.

Comments?

