“I HAVE BORDERLINE PERSONALITY DISORDER AND I’M PROUD OF IT!”


BPD Pride

Many people with BPD and accompanying mental illnesses write their posts about their co-morbid illnesses, but not their BPD, because of the stigma.  People with say that they have physical illnesses rather than BPD.  Even with their therapists, they’re stigmatized because of their BPD.  Students studying Psychology are too ashamed to admit that they have BPD because of stigma – by people in the profession of mental health, no less!  Therapists, professors, doctors and nurses crack jokes  about BPD sufferers as “just another Borderline”  How do we stop this?  By coming forward with our Borderline Personality Disorder and not being ashamed of it.  By shouting it from the rooftops “I HAVE BORDERLINE PERSONALITY DISORDER AND I’M PROUD OF IT!”  We are good people.  We have more empathy than most people.  We are creative, passionate, loving.  What we have to endure every day of our lives – the intense emotions that others will never feel, give us a strength that they can only dream of.

Are you ready to tell the world about your BPD?  Wear your BPD with pride!  I love all of you out there who have struggled along with me.

9 thoughts on ““I HAVE BORDERLINE PERSONALITY DISORDER AND I’M PROUD OF IT!”

  1. Oh wow, sweetie, I’m not sure I could ever do that in a million years! And it’s not even strangers I’m worried about, they’re easy compared to family >.< I'm not sure which is worse, my mothers over concern or the fear of what the rest of my family would say/think. Kudos to you.

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting. You have to do what you’re comfortable with, and if it’s the right time for you. Sometimes you have to step out of your comfort zone a little. I have lots of trouble with that in many areas of my life, but I’m so sick and tired of all the pain that’s happened to me because of my BPD and the stigma associated with it, that I want to do everything I possibly can to raise awareness and eliminate stigma so that others won’t have to go through what I have. I hope that someday you can find the courage to speak up for yourself, and not worry about what anyone else thinks, including your family. (To a point. I still have to work on that too.) 🙂

      Like

  2. If other people have a problem with my BPD, it’s THEIR problem, not mine. Sometimes it’s easier to say that than to actually believe it, because rejection is a major trigger…but with a lot of work I’m getting there! If I spend any amount of time with anyone, I bring up my BPD. Mums on the school run are my latest victims *evil grin*. No, seriously – I don’t have a problem telling people I have BPD. I explain it scientifically – I have a genetic condition that means my emotions are exggerated and prolonged. Given in those terms, there isn’t as much room for the stigma to creep in.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent explanation! Bravo for telling others about your BPD without shame! I know the feeling of rejection and sometimes it’s easier said than done but, like you said, you’re getting there! And so am I. 🙂

    Like

  4. Thank you for posting this. I completely agree that the stigma of BPD (or any mental illness) will never be broken if we do not come forward and talk about it. I’ve been blogging and being open about my BPD on social forums (such as facebook) in hopes of breaking the stigma. I hate that people in the medical and mental health field, as well as family members, friends, and strangers; all judge me based on my diagnosis. I have BPD, yes. But BPD does not define who I am. It’s a part of me, it’s not my entire being. I am currently working on obtaining my Bachelors in Psychology (and will continue on for my Masters) and I hope one day soon I will have the courage to speak openly about my struggles there. Thanks again for posting this, I think it’s important to remember things wont change we if we remain silent about them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The Stigma that Borderline Personality Disorders sufferers Attract | Urban Equestrian

  6. Pingback: Stigma of being a woman with Borderline Personality Disorder | Free psychology

  7. Pingback: notes on BPD | Crazy Life and Thoughts of a Lass with BPD

Comments?